Out of stock

The Liverpool Matchgirl by Lyn Andrews

Parentless and alone on the streets of Liverpool, Lizzie must fight for a brighter future…

Curl up this winter with a heart-warming and poignant saga by Sunday Times best selling author Lyn Andrews. Set in Liverpool in the years before the First World War, Liverpool Matchgirl is the perfect read for fans of Dilly Court, Rosie Goodwin or Call the Midwife.

Liverpool, 1901. The Tempest family is all but destitute, barely able to put food on the table. When Florrie falls ill with pneumonia and Arthur is imprisoned after a drunken fight, their thirteen-year-old daughter Lizzie finds herself parentless, desperate and alone.

Despite her young age, Lizzie has spirit and determination, and she knows that she must find work to keep herself off the streets. In a stroke of luck, she gets a job in the match factory, and foreman George Rutherford takes her under his wing. A new home with the Rutherfords promises a safe haven, but the years ahead will be far from trouble-free. And when Lizzie gives her heart, how can she be sure she has chosen a better man than her own father?

Book Author

SKU: 9781472228772 Category:

Suggested price: £2.00

Out of stock

Additional information

Book Author

Format

Paperback

Note

ISBN

1472228774

Condition

Used Good

Language

English

Pages

368

Year Published

2018

Publisher

Headline Publishing Group

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.