Doctor Ecco’s Cyberpuzzles by Dennis E. Shasha

Doctor Ecco’s Cyberpuzzles: 36 Puzzles for Hackers and Other Mathematical Detectives by Dennis E. Shasha

Whether you’re a programming genius or a logical wizard, this book of puzzles will challenge you well into the night. In the tradition of Sherlock Holmes, Dr. Ecco is one of the greatest sleuths of our time, a mathematical wizard who uses logic and computer programming to solve crimes, find treasures, and explore space. Invented by Dennis E. Shasha, Dr. Ecco first appeared in 1988 as the brilliant mathematical investigator in The Puzzling Adventures of Dr. Ecco, and more recently as the unstumpable gumshoe in Dr. Dobb’s Journal. Dr. Ecco’s Cyberpuzzles is the latest work to record the exploits and misadventures of this renowned PI. The puzzles collected here require no formal background beyond arithmetic and elementary algebrajust lively curiosity and keen intelligence. With 36 illustrated cases organized around eight major mathematical themes (from “Combinatorial Geometry and Geography” to “Ciphers and Secrecy”), this book will encourage you to use your mind and your computer in ways you never previously imagined. 50 b/w line drawings.
Book Author

SKU: 9780393051209 Category:

Suggested price: £12.00

1 in stock

Suggested price: £12.00

Minimum price: £3.00

Additional information

Book Author

Format

Hardcover

Note

ISBN

039305120X

Condition

Used Good

Language

English

Pages

256

Year Published

2002

Publisher

WW Norton & Co

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.